My book of the year…

After having read it twice, my book of the year is “Prodigal God” by Tim Keller. It has been a long time since a book has made me think and reflect as deeply as this one has.

It is only 160 pages, but it is heavy. It has a lot of layers. Reading it a 2nd time, I gained so much more than after my initial reading.

I believe in it so much that I am having the EFC Newport staff read through it for our Monday am devotions.  I am also interested in using it as a leadership development tool at the church. 

It also helps if you watch Keller’s talk “Prodigal God” at the 2009 Willowcreek Leadership Summit. It is a great overview/summary of the book.

The question you need to answer is whether you are more like the younger brother or elder brother. Are you following the 3rd way?

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “My book of the year…”

  1. Anchored Says:

    Couldn’t agree more with your choice, Pastor. Thanks for turning me onto Keller’s talk at the Summit. Keep your eye’s open for this one coming in April: http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/justintaylor/2010/02/12/to-change-the-world/

    May God do amazing things in Newport amongst the military leadership because of your ministry much like the Apostle Paul’s in Rome. Press on and Press in!

    Always-
    Anchored

Leave a comment